Wisconsin USATF XC, T&F and LDR News

Wisconsin USATF XC, T&F and LDR News
Last fall, as one of his last acts in office, Governor Walker proclaimed November 17th through the 24th “Cross Country Week” in Wisconsin. In that time span the DCAA D1 was held in Madison, the NCAA D3 was at Oshkosh and the Foot Locker Midwest Regional was contested at UW-Parkside. It was the efforts of Wisconsin USATF that made this possible.
WIAA Division 1 XC Champion Drew Bosley was selected to represent the USA on the Coed Junior Relay Team in the Great Stirling XC Meet in Scotland this past January. Drew lead off the second place US team. University of Wisconsin Coach Mick Byrne was the USA men’s coach for the event.
The University of Wisconsin freshman Schaib Aljabaly ran 22:39 to win the 8K USATF Junior Cross Country Championship race in Tallahassee on February 2nd. His win qualified him for the 2019 IAAF World Cross Country Championships on March 30 in Aarhus, Denmark.  Laura Bosley (Mequon-Thiensville TC), mother of Homestead high school standout Drew Bosley, was third in the master’s women’s 6k championship race in 23:55.

Stan Druckrey (WRRT) ran :11.13 to win the 60 Meter Hurdles 70-74 Division at The Master’s USATF National Championships in Winston-Salem, NC on March 2nd.
 Also on Saturday (3/2) John Dewitt placed 25th in the men’s field and Naomi Fulton was the 41st woman in the Atlanta “Run for The Gold 8.4 Mile Road Race.” The race gave Olympic Marathon Trials qualifiers an opportunity to preview the loop course that will be run for the 2020 OT Qualifier. John ran 40:34 (4:57 pace) and Naomi ran 49:21 (6:01 pace).
WRRT’s Josh Slamka, who just turned 40, ended his fantastic master's indoor season with the following marks/rankings:
200m :23.97 #17 world, #3 USA
400m :52.21 #4 world, #1 USA
800m 1:53.62 #1 world, #1 USA
1 Mile 4:29.85 #3 world, #2 USA..
Wisconsin USATF annually awards four $500 stipends to it’s Road Runners of the Year. Michele Lee of Sun Prairie and Gabi Anzalone of Madison were the women’s recipients. John Dewitt of West Allis and Tyler Sigl of Seymour were the men’s award winners.